Uncategorized

Back to the Future!

Back to the Future!

I was tempted to name my Blog entry for today, as “The Fifth Week”, in tribute to the book which first gave me an insight into the world of the Jesuits. I read the book, purely out of curiosity, and as you can guess, I was hooked. The back cover of the book, which was written by William J. O’Malley SJ states that “Every Jesuit novice makes the month-long Spiritual Exercises: the first week is on the principle of life; the second is on Jesus’ life; the third is on his passion and death; and the fourth is on the resurrected life of the children of God. The fifth week is the rest of a Jesuit’s life.” Well, I’m in my 6th week, having completed the Exercises on February 10th.

Let me rewind a bit. I entered the exercises with an open mind, although I was half expecting to be transformed, and to be honest half-expecting to be a little bored. I was wondering how I was going to spend such a long time without any book but the Bible to read.  However, as Paul mentioned below, with up to 5 hours a day of prayer, I found the days were too short! It’s amazing how perception can change in a flash.  My experience of the exercises was simply put, a recognition of the never-ending love and mercy of God in my life. I felt a strong desire to match that love, although I know that I can’t compete with God.  I found myself recognising the need for God in my life and in the world, while I was contemplating the life of Christ. I would say that the retreat was really geared towards my lifestyle in the future. I can’t go back into the past and change any decision I have made, but I have recognised that I can determine how I make decisions and live my life in the future.

On coming back to outside world and the future, my fire and enthusiasm for doing the will of God is a little stronger and the fire of faith and love in my heart burns brighter.

I’m two days into my placement at an organisation called the Whitechapel Centre (http://www.whitechapelcentre.co.uk/) which aims at providing solutions to those facing housing and homelessness difficulties.  It’s been an eye-opening experience so far.

Hopefully, I’ll keep you posted about my future developments over the coming weeks. That’s all from me, I’m going back to my Future :).Don’t forget to check us out next Wednesday, where more interesting happenings should be revealed from the other novices on their experiments.

Joel 

                                             Image

 

One thought on “Back to the Future!

Leave a Reply

